Big Magic


IMG_0480

I was twenty one and in New York City when I first picked up Eat Pray Love almost six years ago. I had left university to work in South America and I had had a pretty up and down year –  with my self-esteem knocked, uncertainty over what to do with my life (dramatic I know) and I was filled with nerves about returning to university.  I fell in love instantly with that book . So when I saw Big Magic on Amazon, I bought it instantly without even reading what it was about. Thankfully I was not disappointed.

Big Magic is about the pursuit of living a creative life –  but what I loved is that it doesn’t limit this to people who are successful artists, or talented singers or Pulizter worthy novelists. Creativity comes in all forms and it doesn’t matter if you are good at it. Its about enjoying it and it bringing happiness and inspiration to your life. 

“We all spend our twenties and thirties trying so hard to be perfect, because we’re so worried about what people will think of us. Then we get into our forties and fifties, and we finally start to be free, because we decide that we don’t give a damn what anyone thinks of us. You won’t be completely free until you reach your sixties and seventies when you finally  realize this liberating truth –  nobody was ever thinking about you anyhow.”

They aren’t. They weren’t They never were

When I first started this blog, I kept it for months only visible to myself, fiercely protective of it from even Euan. I was so scared that people would find it self-indulgent,  or just lame! I felt embarrassed writing about myself, posting photos of myself and terrified of what people would think of me. Eventually I opened the blog to the public but I still kept a degree off caution over what I posted.It has taken me months to feel a little bit more confident about writing on here and every time I click publish I still feel nervous. But why? If people don’t like it, no need to read folks –  move on! I decided I would let go of this irrational fear I had and just have fun with my blog and write what I want to write about, which changes frequently! 

The best bit about this book is that everyone will take a different message from this book because everyone has their own little things that holds them back –  laziness, perfectionism, lack of discpline, fear, time or motivation. Whatever it is, you may find the little bit of inspiration you need to do something that brings you happiness And you never know, you might end up with a talent you never knew your had!

One final thing –  this line in the book made me laugh so much that I wanted to share it

                   It was never my intention to write a giant best seller,  believe me. I wouldn;t know how to write a giant best seller if I tried. (Case in poiint: I’ve published siz books – all written with equal passion and effort –  and five of them were decidedly not  best sellers……I’ll tell you how obvlivious I was during the writing of that book, During the course of my Eat Pray Love tralevs, I fell in love with that Brazilian man named Felipe, to whom I am now married, and at one point –  shortly into our courtship – I asked him if he felt comfortable with my writing about him in my memoir. He said “Well, it depends. What’s at stake?”

I replied, “Nothing. Trust me –  nobody reads my books”. 

Over twelve million people ended up reading that book. 

Shop the book here.

2 thoughts on “Big Magic

  1. TicketAndTravelBlog says:

    Loved this post- definitely intrigued! I’ve been doing the “eff what everyone else thinks” for a while, but it’s true how you still hold back and edit yourself a bit when it comes to posting something with your name attached. Keep doing what you’re doing : )

    • londonlifedebbie says:

      Aw thank you and thanks for commenting! I definitely am still nervous from time to time but just want to do what I love!

Leave a Reply

