Holiday reading

I finished a fantastic book a few weeks ago –  The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadifa Mohamed. It was set in Somalia in the 1980s just before the breakout of civil war and followed three different women whose lives are affected. Quite frankly, I couldn’t put it down. I love reading novels that was set in recent times, I knew so little about the history of Somalia before reading this book and it was a history lesson as well as interesting novel. I highly recommend it if you are looking for something new to read, especially if you liked A Thousand Splendid Suns. 

I always find the worst thing about finishing a great book is that afterwards you fee a little lost –  like you have lost a friend. As a result I haven’t read much in a few weeks and I really miss it. So in advance of my upcoming holiday I decided to treat myself to some new books in anticipation of a week of relaxation beside the pool. 

IMG_4832

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

This book has actually been sitting on my shelf for about a year and for some reason I haven’t got around to reading it yet. I find Gabriel Garcia Marquez”s books quite hardgoing but I have read a couple already (Love in the Time of Chlora and In Evil Hour) so I am determined to spend some time and get into this book as everyone raves about it!

Us by David Nicholls

I have been waiting to read this book for a while and I am so glad I have finally just bought it! I am such a fan of his other books (One Day, The Understudy and Starter for Ten) and am so looking forward to whizzing through this book at lightening speed. And if it is anything like the others it will become a book I reread often!

 Sisters of Treason by Elizabeth Fremantle

When I was a kid I was obsessed with the Tudors –  I could recite Henry VIIIs wives in my sleep and when I was 13 I read a giant book on their history (The Six Wives of Henry VIII by David Starkey if you are a Tudor-phile like me!). However, surprisingly I knew little about Lady Jane Grey and her short lived reign of nine days. This is a historical fiction book, set in the court of Mary I following the execution of Jane and it follows her two younger sisters. I am enjoying it so far although I had to keep googling things in the first few chapters as I was so lost as to who everyone is. If you are going to read this I recommend getting an actual book as I keep flicking to the family tree and list of historical characters for reference, which can be much more difficult on a kindle! I am reading this for my book club (Poppy Love’s Book Club –  if you are London and want to try something different and meet some new people) and will hopefully get to make it along to the meet up!

You may think three books is a lot for a week but when I get into reading, I could go through one a day on holiday. So to save space in my suitcase I have also downloaded a few books onto my kindle.  I got the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth and Sunrise by Victoria Hislop, hopefully both enjoyable as they were spur of the moment buys!

What is on your summer reading list?

Leave a Reply

