Springtime reading

I have always loved reading –even as a toddler I would apparently snatch the book off my parents and try to read it myself, usually reciting it from memory as the book was upside down and I was two and hadn’t actually learnt to read yet. Reading for me is now my relaxation but it has also helped make the cold mornings standing at the train station and squidged up against others on my commute just a little bit easier.

Now my holiday to Bali may be 8 months away but I am already looking forward to having a long reading list to get through while lazing by a pool in the sunshine. Having just finished Wild by Cheryl Strayed, I am in need of some book inspiration so have put together a little list of what’s next on my reading list. 

Books

  1. The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion. The sequel to The Rosie Effect, it was the heartwarming tale of Don, a geneticist on the hunt for a wife who meets his very specific requirements. It was a hilarious read but also helped readers understand autism better. I am so excited about reading the sequel. 
  2. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith. Yes maybe I bought the first book in this series as it was written by J.K. Rowling and I am a major Harry Potter buff but as mystery/crime thrillers go it was great and I am excited about this sequel.
  3. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenger. I first read this book years ago on a roadtrip around Canada and I remember sitting and reading it by torchlight in my tent all night until I had finished it. I think I read it so quickly I can barely remember anything that happened so really want to give it another read. I am also excited to reread it as it is set in Highgate where we first lived when we moved to London so I feel I will really be able to imagine the scenes on rereading it!
  4. Stones into Schools by Greg Mortensen. The sequel to Three Cups of Tea, this is the inspirational story of a guy who helps build schools in the most isolated regions of Pakistan and Afghanistan, with the belief that the only way to combat religious extremism and long term poverty is to educate children. I have just started this book and it is every bit as a good as the first book and gives a new perspective to how I viewed the importance of education.
  5. Purple Hibiscus by Chimimanda Ngozi Adichie. If you haven’t already read any of this Nigerian author’s book, they are well worth a read- I have read Half a Yellow Sun and Americanah so far and absolutely loved them. I love fiction that gives insights into different cultures and having known little about Nigerian history, these books helped educate me while being a good story. Purple Hibiscus is set in post-Colonial Nigeria and follows 15 year old Kambili whose life is disturbed by a military coup. 
  6. Us by David Nicholls. Reading One Day years ago was a book that really impacted me and found really moving, while being funny and an easy read. Even just writing about it, makes me want to reread it. His latest book is about a middle aged couple, where the wife wants to divorce and is convinced to go on a final trip to put their marriage back on track.
  7. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. This book is sitting on my kindle already and I have tried reading the first few pages but can’t get into it just yet. However, I have had recommendations from many friends to read this so I am determined to get into it as it is meant to be a fantastic read. 
  8. The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty. This Australian author has quickly become one of my favourites and I snap up her books before I have even read the blurb- check out this and Big Little Lies, What Alice Forgot andThe Husband’s Secret. 
  9. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. Having seen posters everywhere for this book I have finally bought it and think it is next on my list. Having recently discovered Poppy Loves Book Club, I have missed their latest book club but I fully intend to go along at some point – I get so painfully nervous in advance of new things but when I am there I am totally fine and can chat to anyone! You can join here and join on twitter if you can’t make a meeting! 

Have you read any of these yet? What did you think? Any other book recommendations, send me your suggestions- fiction or non-fiction!

 

 

Leave a Reply

