Epicurean Delights

Epicurean: fond of or adapted to luxury or indulgence in pleasures; having luxurious tastes or habits, especially in eating and drinking.

 

The above definition all too well describes the café of Epicures, located in Hyndland, Glasgow- a haven in the hustle and bustle of Glasgow of families, beautiful flats, cafes and shops.

Breakfast, brunch, coffee, lunch, dinner, drinks…Epicures offers everything at any time of the day. With the purpose of this blog being to try new friends, I have to admit I have failed with blog post #2 as I have lost count of the number of times I have visited Epicures. And despite have a varied and tasty menu, where on every visit I eye up what is one someone’s plate, I stick of the same three things whenever I visit, but only because they are just do delicious

My recommendations are:

  • Pulled pork tartin with apple slaw and fries
  • Melt-in-the-mouth-to-die-for chocolate brownie
  • Eggs benedict

This particular visit was for a catch-up with my sister and niece (on her 8 month birthday) and Epicures provides the perfect ambience. Bright and airy, with sunshine all day (perfect for sitting out once springtime finally hits Glasgow. Epicures has a family vibe with and are always welcoming to those with babies and children. Tables with fresh flowers, candles everywhere come nightfall and the buzz of people having a good time. Epicures is so casually cool it can play Diana Ross and not seem naff. It is really somewhere I will miss when I leave Glasgow but will no doubt visit on each trip back!

Leave a Reply

